#44-RUNAWAYS: TEENAGE WASTELAND

Standard

RUNAWAYS: TEENAGE WASTELAND

Writer: Brian K. Vaughn

Artist: Adrian Alphona

Marvel, 2009

runaways-teen-aAfter a promising beginning in the first volume, Vaughn drops the ball here.

The teenage spawn of super-villains are still on the run from their folks in this second volume.  They’ve found a ‘base’ to hide out in and spend most of their time trying to figure out what to do.  Enter a mysterious youth who appears to also be a child of evil who (not surprisingly) turns out to be something else.

Oh, and then Cloak & Dagger show up because one of the cops on the parent’s payroll has the bright idea to send them after the runaways.

I lost interest in the storyline with the new kid because it diverted from the main story.  Plus I got tired of hearing the kids bicker.  The plot picks up again with the arrival of Cloak & Dagger but it’s still rather lifeless.

It’s hard for me to believe that these super-villains are so scary and dangerous when they can’t even find their own kids.  I was, of course, more interested in the parents and what their history was than the kids so had trouble keeping my interest going.

Again, the art by Alphona is good but too manga related for me.

I also have to question the value of a book that collects six issues of a comic which I am able to read in about a half-hour.  I probably wouldn’t be happy if I had to pay for this instead of borrowing it from the library and, were I paying for it, I’d probably not have read it.

Rating (1-5):

3.  Meh.  Good start that just stalls out here.

One thought on “#44-RUNAWAYS: TEENAGE WASTELAND

Leave a Reply

