#111–LOVECRAFT

Standard

5138F7BBVEL._SY300_#111–LOVECRAFT

Writer: Keith Giffen

Artist: Hans Rodionoff

Vertigo, 2004

Well, this was disappointing.

Supposedly based on a screenplay, this is yet another tired variation of the “what if Lovecraft was writing about things that really existed?”  It takes a lot to make that old concept new and you won’t find it here.

I probably know more about Lovecraft than most and I can safely say that HPL would be appalled by this book.  Not just the idea that he was writing about real monsters, but the sexual episodes and quasi-erotic overtones would certainly not have sat well with the Gentleman from Providence.  In truth, I could have forgiven such excess if there happened to be a story here worth reading.  Giffen’s writing is unconvincing and I am not impressed by the art.

Now I was justified in not reading this for so long and hopefully can forget that I have.  If I want to read a far more enjoyable book with Lovecraft as a character, I’d go read Peter Cannon’s excellent PULPTIME.

(Read 2/21/14)

Rating (1-5):

2. The story is sometimes embarrassing in its banality.  If you like Lovecraft, spare yourself this pain.

Leave a comment